Project: What is it like to live with a pitbull in the face of BSL?

I am really excited to include this poster on this blog. I have decided to do a research project on the affects of BSL in Montreal after having so many conversations with people, and my personal involvement with working, breathing and living for pitbull-type dogs. I feel like this is something I can contribute to the literature and awareness on pitbull-type dogs considering my current position as a graduate student.  I am really hammering in on the criminizalization of us and our dogs in this study  such as the required annual RCMP police check and reading today that the recruitment poster for the spring-summer 2017 by-law officers targeted people currently in the police academy who will be granted the authority to use both medication to sedate animals and a tranquilizer.

Feeling very grateful for all the support, encouragement and trust being put on me by all those who are interested in contributing to this research.

#endbsl
#dontbullymybreed
#saferkindercommunities
#montrealpitbulls

 

final_poster.jpg

About Stephanie

My name is Stephanie and this began as a blog for a course about Feminist Animal Liberation/Rights (toggling between the two) and my first steps into critical animal studies. The class is complete but I am going to keep this blog to continue the conversation and document future thoughts. I am a MSc student at Concordia University in the Department of Geography, Planning and Environment where I study concepts such as: pest animals, environmental governance, biopolitics, urban spaces, domination, invasive species ..etc.. all within the frameworks of feminism (this encompassess a LOT), anarchist principles, post-colonial studies, critical animal studies, veganism, political palates/food accessibility and critical geography. I hope to one day also study animals in the tourist industry (a major interest of mine, that I am sidelining for the time being) such as the now-famous albino squirrels in Toronto. A little bit more about me, I co-habit with the most beautiful ginger lion named Burzum and elderbull Clementine, they both teach me daily. I am an animal liberationist and social justice activist, and plan to one day start a feminist collective/bookstore/resource/sanctuary for all beings/ space with my favourite person Sonmin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

