Podcast of Eco-Ability from ARZone

I just finished Earth, Animal and Disability Liberation: The Rise of the Eco-Ability Movement (2012). I also just found this…Eco-Ability book podcast! that offers a great overview of the book from five of the contributors: Anthony Nocella II, Judith K. C. Bentley (both editors), David Nibert, Norm Phelps and Kimberly Socha. 

I will post my thoughts later on today, but right now I am thinking about themes of forced isolation, conformity through control and constant “speaking for the voiceless” and prioritizing english, oral communication that really is only a small percentage of how we communicate yet its absence is enough to denigrate another sensate and sentient being. 

This is definitely a new intersectional lens for me, especially critical and social modals of disability: earth, animals and people with disabilities. resist

About Stephanie

My name is Stephanie and this began as a blog for a course about Feminist Animal Liberation/Rights (toggling between the two) and my first steps into critical animal studies. The class is complete but I am going to keep this blog to continue the conversation and document future thoughts. I am a MSc student at Concordia University in the Department of Geography, Planning and Environment where I study concepts such as: pest animals, environmental governance, biopolitics, urban spaces, domination, invasive species ..etc.. all within the frameworks of feminism (this encompassess a LOT), anarchist principles, post-colonial studies, critical animal studies, veganism, political palates/food accessibility and critical geography. I hope to one day also study animals in the tourist industry (a major interest of mine, that I am sidelining for the time being) such as the now-famous albino squirrels in Toronto. A little bit more about me, I co-habit with the most beautiful ginger lion named Burzum and elderbull Clementine, they both teach me daily. I am an animal liberationist and social justice activist, and plan to one day start a feminist collective/bookstore/resource/sanctuary for all beings/ space with my favourite person Sonmin.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

